The nominations brochure for the 2018 STAR Awards at the 2018 SHPE National Convention is now available.

Nominations will close on July 10th, 2018.

A candidate can be nominated for more than one award. The candidate must meet the criteria as stated in each award description.

To submit a nomination, the following is required:

  • Completed SHPE STAR Awards Nomination Form.
  • Biographical sketch that is no more than two typed pages.
  • Nominee Merit Description: No more than two typed pages covering the following:
  • Describe the nominee’s contributions and achievements, including dates and effects or results.
  • Describe specific examples of how the nominee’s efforts resulted in the enhancement, development, and/or promotion of SHPE.
  • Letters of recommendation or other materials that might support the nomination.
  • Include a color photograph of the nominee.
  • Additional consideration will be provided to current SHPE members in good standing.
  • All materials received become the property of SHPE. Please do not send original documents.

Take careful note of the file upload guidelines below:

  • In order to streamline the submissions process and to ensure complete reviews, please adhere to the following requirements for your file uploads:
  • Upload materials in a single zipped folder.
  • All materials for submission must be combined and submitted as a single PDF file.
  • Naming convention for the file will be “LastNameFirstName_Award Nominated For_2018”


Members and corporate/government partners are able to nominate peers in all categories indicated below.
  • Jaime Oaxaca Award
  • Junipero Serra Award
  • Community Service Award
  • Professional Role Model
  • Student Role Model/Undergraduate and Graduate
  • Promising Engineer
  • Hispanic in Technology — Government and Corporate
  • Corporate Achievement
  • Pioneer of the Year Award
  • SHPE Star of Today
  • SHPE Star of Tomorrow
  • Manager of the Year Award
  • Green Engineer Award
  • Innovator Award
  • Chapter Advisor of the Year Award
  • Educators of the Year (K-12 & Higher Education)
  • Diversity Award
  • Young Investigator Award